Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As modern life is getting inexorably hectic in this day and age, choosing a perfect type of leisure pursuits which give you the most sense of pleasure is of great necessity. Although some people claim that pastimes which present more of a challenge can be more exciting, I disagree with the statement as I believe easy hobbies are more enjoyable. To begin with, there are a number of reasons why challenging hobbies are not always fun. First, the levels of difficulty of a diversion equal the amount of tremendous effort and time one has to devote to getting good at it, which in turn robs hobby pursuers of great joy. For example, film editing is a hobby that requires a high level of knowledge and expertise. It takes an average of two years before one becomes competent in this activity, which can be considered a joy breaker. Second, the number of intellectually-demanding game players is small in number and therefore tend to be individualistic. In fact, those who play games such as code breaking games or solving word puzzles usually play alone and find it hard to find like-minded people or gaming partners. This leads to a lack of mutual and shared pleasure that can be found in easy games. On the other hand, easy hobbies are believed to be more enjoyable as they bring feelings of satisfaction without requiring one to spend lots of money or hours practicing. First, one example of an activity that is easy yet fun-filled for most people is playing badminton. This hobby requires very little equipment and it is simple to learn. What’s more, as almost everyone knows how to play it, it is easy to set up a team and have a fun time playing against one another. Another typical example of a simple leisure activity that most people find easy and fun is photography. In fact, anyone can take interesting pictures without knowing too much about the technicalities of operating a camera, which makes it a satisfying activity. In conclusion, hobbies don’t need to be complicated or challenging in order to bring a sense of pleasure to people. However, one should know what type of pastime suits them the most to bring out the most joy and make the most of their spare time.