Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country. To what extent do you agree ?

Language is an integral part of human communication and it is one such skill which can be learned through practice only. It is argued by many people that staying in a country is mandatory if one wants to speak its regional language fluently. I do not agree with this statement and consider that living abroad can make the language learning process faster and easier; however, there are many other ways to become a proficient in any foreign language. People who live in a foreign country eventually start speaking its local language because they develop this habit while interacting with local residents. A human mind grabs the language quickly if he is surrounded by people who always speak the common language. For instance, kids start speaking the same language which is spoken by their parents. They learn to communicate in their mother tongue, just by listening to their parents, without having any formal training. Thus, it is true that living in a foreign country can make the process of learning the language faster and simpler. On the other hand, staying in a foreign land is not the only way to become fluent in a language. There are many other factors which play a major role in this learning process. To state one, people can learn the language by reading books or watching movies and regional shows. They might find it hard in the starting to understand the movie dialogues, but slowly and gradually people start enjoying it. For example, many Indians whose primary language is Hindi and have never visited any foreign country can still speak the English language fluently. In conclusion, living in a foreign country make the language learning process smoother. However, proficiency can be gained by reading books and watching movies, too.