Nowadays, distance-learning have gained in popularity, but some people argue that courses can never be as good as those taken by attending a college or university in person.To what extent do you agree or disagree

With the advent of rapid Internet connection and convenient software, distance education has become increasingly popular. I basically disagree with the statement that this innovative educational method cannot achieve the same learning outcomes as traditional one which requires students to study on campus because online courses have more benefits, although they indeed have counterproductive effects sometimes. One of the most noticeable advantages that distance-learning programs have over traditional classes is the flexibility in arranging schedules. Needless to say, the learning productivity can be improved if attendees arrange the courses at the time when their learning efficiency are relatively higher. For example, numerous distant lectures are recorded in advance and available 24 hours, it enables learners to allocate the studying time whenever suitable to them. However, traditional teaching timetables are relatively fixed, which discourages people from adjusting their plans accordingly. Besides, the remote teaching is a better choice for those who fail to be qualified for top-tier universities. Quite often, students in less famous colleges are less likely to receive relatively high standard educational resources due to the fact that these colleges are less attractive to outstanding lecturers. Consequently, students in schools of poor quality might reap benefits of learning remotely. For instance, those students can make the most of remote lectures delivered by prominent professors via the Internet. On the other hand, we cannot overlook the downside brought by remote learning. Apparently, studying on campus to receive a tertiary education make it possible for individuals not only to gain the knowledge, but also to develop interpersonal skills, including teamwork spirit, leadership and the ability to cooperate. These skills can be cultivated when they join extracurricular activities on campus. However, students who choose to participate in online classes cannot profit from these events due to the lack of face-to-face interaction with their peers and teachers. To sum up, distance-education can lead to better academic achievement by offering flexible timetables and the access for students who cannot receive high standard educational training, though it may prevent people from gaining communication skills.