Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information is relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In the past few decades, personal information about individuals in a work environment has become increasingly popular among profession givers. Owners of various organisations tend to enquire from applicants, what form of leisure activity they enjoy and also, if they are married or not. Whether or not this is required is debatable. Admittedly, proponents of the school of thought that it is unnecessary to obtain such confidential data have their justification. The rationalization behind their argument is much more likely that, not only does an individual hobby have no influence on their qualification, but also, it does not determine their skill level. Therefore, an individual might be interested in an activity, which they engage in during their free time, but might not be interested in jobs regarding to that field. According to an employment survey in Ghana, to epitomize, it was recorded that 80% of post hunters are not interested in occupations related to their hobbies. However, taking a look at the flip side, could the advocates of the school of thought that postulates that personal enquiries about a job seeker being important be absolutely right? Certainly, the vindication for their standpoint might be that these data help them to determine the interviewee's area of choice as regards what they enjoy as well as their strengths and weaknesses. To illustrate, according to a study at the University of Lagos, it was recorded that 60% of job aspirants' strengths were related to things they did for recreation. Personally, I consent to the hilt that intimate enquiries about prospective employees are neither appropriate nor functional to the task givers because it does not depict their qualifications. In conclusion, having explored both viewpoints, I reiterate that private data about job seekers is not crucial.