Nowadays, experience is more valued in the workplace than knowledge in many countries. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, people in some countries consider the experience more important than education in workplaces. While being experienced helps employees in many cases, in my opinion, prioritizing experience over knowledge has more drawbacks than positive effects. First and foremost, the major disadvantage stems from the preference of experience over knowledge is promoting low-educated, but experienced people higher positions in corporations. Unfortunately, in this present climate, the more a worker stays with a company, the more he or she has the change to be promoted. This ends up ignoring individuals with brilliant talents and intelligent people who have less working background. For instance, it is almost impossible for a genius who recently graduated from university to be hired as a manager. With the same logic, great people such as Steve Jobs or Bill Gates had a tough time beginning their careers with small positions. Furthermore, by giving experience more credit, the scientific methods required for a company's growth will be ignored. In other words, not only have these companies less fresh and talented workforce, but they also suffer from a modern system to practise scientific approaches. A salient example here is the competition between Yahoo and Google in the early 2000s. While Yahoo had the majority of market share in the email business during that period, due to outdated business strategies designed by its older managers, young managers of Google found an opportunity to design a new email platform that absorbed most Yahoo users. It is believed that more than 75% percent of all emails are being sent or received by Gmail these days, and only 7% of all email users send emails through Yahoo Mail. In conclusion, I believe that the adverse effects of preferring experience over knowledge are far more than its benefits. Nowadays, a successful business comprises smart and young managers, who are well-educated with new scientific methods and are eager to advance their association.