Nowadays a lot of buildings, such as schools and offices, are now being built with an open plan design. Why is that? Do you see this as a positive or negative development?

It is considered by many that contemporary designs for educational and workspaces should focus on making these areas more open and spacious. While there is a range of advantages to creating more open spaces, they also have some drawbacks that must be noted. One of the biggest benefits of open spaces is that it creates a more natural environment. Humans are social creatures, so being able to communicate directly with each other makes people happier than being in a small cubicle. In a school situation, open spaces provide children with a place to build their social skills. In my country, students just sit in rows and learn information by heart, which just makes them bored and does not help their social development. Another benefit of working out in the open is that it makes it easier to share ideas and learn new things. In an open work or study area, it is easier to ask questions and get feedback on what you are doing than it is if you are stuck behind a desk in a closed office space. In contrast, open spaces can cause some problems. A major one is excessive noise. When a large number of people are sharing an office or classroom, the noise generated can make it difficult to concentrate. If a student is trying to read a book or an employee is trying to make a business call, they will not be able to do it effectively. In conclusion, more open spaces are advantageous to work and school because they create a positive environment. However, if these spaces are not controlled, they can become too noisy and unsuitable for productive output.