Many people chose to work or travel for a year before college to what extent do you agree or disagree

It is true that most teenagers tend to spend at least one year to travel or work before going to university nowadays. Although there are some drawbacks of this plan, there are also some benefits. The main drawbacks of the trend towards the gap year are that it may lead to a waste of time. For example, teenagers who just graduated from school spend one year travelling in different countries, meaning that they need to find work and earn some travel expenses to maintain their life quality. Without any prominent skills or some experiences, the only job could be offered to them is either hotel staff or restaurant waiters. As a result, young people who decide to travel during one year, may turn out to be cheaper labour, and waste time in saving money rather than travelling. Despite the drawbacks mentioned above, there are still some advantages for young men to take a gap year. Firstly, it could be the best way to broaden their horizons. To illustrate, exposing themselves in new environment not only needs to experience cultural shocks but also overcomes language barriers. By spending time in travelling, the young man could learn something they could not learn from school, and get to know themselves better and earlier than others. Furthermore, these may help you with the career choice in nearly future. In conclusion, spending one year in travelling or working in a different place may cause a waste of time, however, it is possible to help you gain some knowledge and apply to work.