With the development of social media more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

In the last few years, social media has taken the world by storm. This development has given the liberty to younger children to use the internet in different forms with less restrictions in any part of the world. This surely has a negative impact in the long run. There are a few ways to control the web access which will be discussed in the essay below. To begin with, a decade ago, television and radio were the only means of entertainment for the people. With the changing times, it has developed and mobile phones and laptop has taken over. The internet was rarely used by children, whereas nowadays every kid has mobile phone and internet use through which they can chat and call with anyone at anytime in any part of the world. Furthermore, there are a few dangers of unverified interest usage, which include falling for scams, phishing, posting private information, so on and so forth, which can be limited with parental controls. A recent survey in Australia shows, that 2 out of 10 kids involve themselves in potentially harmful situations due to unsupervised web access. Secondly, as parents, we should ensure that we monitor and check the content of the apps kids use on their phones or laptops. Moreover, talking to kids about the online safety will help them educate them on the negative side of the online life. Youngsters tend to unintentionally stumble in violence, sexual activities, therefore, it is important for parents and families to keep a watch on the web sites they acquire. It is also important to teach are our kids to engage split their time in non-internet activities as well. To conclude, kids should be allowed to use the cyber space under adult supervision so as to keep them out of possible risky positions.