Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Childhood obesity is becoming a problem throughout the developed world. Because of this, some people think that adverts for fast food, sweets and sugary snacks should not be allowed in schools and colleges. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

Obesity among children is becoming more common nowadays. Owing to the increasing number of obese children, it is considered by some that fast food and sweet snack advertisements should not be posted in educational institutions such as in schools and colleges. To begin with, fast food chains are more popular with kids more than ever. This is due to some restaurants offering affordable kid meals which include toys that attract the youngsters. Additionally, sugary snacks appeal so much to the kids not only for its sweet taste, but also because of its different flavours that come with a variety of colours. For instance, in a grocery store or even in school canteens, a small rack full of the sorts of candies and chocolates can always be seen near the cashier counter. This is because it is also a way for companies or even store owners to promote these types of foods to lure kids to buy it. However, it is being considered by some that these types of advertisements should not be permitted in the school premises. Since the rate of obesity is surging among young children, it is believed by other parents that any way of promoting fast food and sweet snacks is a contributing factor in this serious matter. For instance, some students would rather buy a value meal that they saw from a burger joint ad rather than eating their packed lunch. This means that kids prefer this quick meal which can be somehow harmful to them when consumed too much. For this reason, in my opinion, I strongly agree that any means of encouraging children to eat fast or sugary snack should be banned in the academy. Alternatively, institutions should invest to adverts displaying the benefits of eating healthy cuisine. In addition, advertisements showing the negative impacts of unhealthy product consumption should also be discussed with kids. This is to give them awareness at an early age of the negative impacts of poor eating habits. In conclusion, I think schools, including colleges and universities, should allocate more effort towards promoting healthy lifestyle particularly for the youngsters. This could be done by posting ads to adding this subject as part of their learning process.