With the advent of social media, more people are getting their news online instead of from print media. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for people who read news online.

Recent years have seen a conspicuous trend among people of reading news online by using Facebook or Instagram rather than reading a local newspaper; consequently, it has metamorphosed into a debatable argument whether it has a plus point or a drawback. Notwithstanding, this discourse delves into both standpoints, and subsequently, will explore whether the boons trump the pitfalls, accordingly. Admittedly, the exponents of the view that reading online news have a tremendous benefit - have their own justification. The rationale behind this argument might be that youngsters do not need to wait till the next morning to keep abreast of what is happening surroundings. Put differently, one can find all local as well as international news by the touch of a finger on a cell phone or a laptop, anytime and anywhere in the world. Additionally, thanks to technological invent that social media has been recognized by a mass of people across the globe to find out such a piece of tiny information nowadays, which was not possible in the past decade. To exemplify, today's population has been using Facebook for uploading news about a local event or anything major that happened in their community; hence, it serves as the main purpose of spreading news in no time. However, taking a look from the flip side, could the contenders of the school of thought that the social sites provide faulty information, be absolutely right? Certainly, it follows that people not only can post wrong data without having authorization, but also their own beliefs without looking the correct report; therefore, it can lead a battle among the people. Moreover, untrustworthy social websites instigate adults to waste their time by reading the faulty news, and create panic situations. To epitomize, according to one survey by the University of London in 2010, 20% of people passed the wrong data just to enhance their view and to gain benefits. Personally, I consent to the hilt that the social network has made the communication much easier by providing instantly up-to-date news; nevertheless, youngsters should be able to recognize if it is the correct or misguided news. To conclude, having both slants, it is obvious that the staggering override the gloomy aspect.