In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a home with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

It is undeniable that youth, nowadays, tend to change their lifestyle after schooling age. It seems likely that, in many places around the world, students leave their families after they graduate from school, either to live solely or with their friends. In my own view, this can be considered as a positive development, as living outside the family can develop youngsters’ self-dependance and communication skills. When young people are separated from their families after finishing their schooling, they will be more likely to build up a stronger self dependant personality. This is because they have to manage all daily life aspects by themselves. For instance, matters like shopping, paying bills and maintaining households have to be accomplished by them, not by their parents. Although they could still receive pocket money from their families, they still have to spend it wisely, which teach them how to plan their financial expenditures efficiently. Another reason why youth, once they finish school, are encouraged to live alone or with friends is that these people are more likely to be sociable with highly improved communication skills. To illustrate, if they want to inform the house’s owner about an electrical problem, they will have to speak politely and to show a good manner. As a result, they can learn how to be socially accepted and, of course, acquire significant experience that is less likely to be gained while living with their parents, who handle all communication aspects. In conclusion, I believe that it is worthy for young adults to practice their lives separated from their families at the period following school. If they do so, they could develop a more reliable character and gain a solid life experience.