In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

The number of private vehicles has increased drastically with the time, resulting heavy traffic congestion and one ideal solution would be imposing high amount of fines on private car owners. This essay will discuss both pros and cons of this idea on further paragraphs. To begin, The trend of owning the car, whether required or not is popular in the society. For instance, the majority of the cars on the road have occupancy of a single person only and this cause trouble to others also by rise in traffic. Therefore, high taxes will filter out the people who have genuine reasons to travel and also motivate the people to travel in sharing basis by sharing the taxes too. In addition, the other direct advantage of higher taxes would be surge in government revenue, which can be used for development of public welfare, For example, road construction, public transport, parks and hospitals. In contrast, the citizens already paying a large sum of their income in taxes and this additional tax will indeed overburdened the people which may leave them with very less savings. To illustrate, after this tax person will not have any saved money, which is in general intended for emergencies, children's education or retirement. The other disadvantage would be overcrowded of public transportation and boost in infrastructure costs to make it accessible and reachable at every corner of the city. For example, before any new construction, first authorities have to plan for its reachability from public stations. In a nutshell, imposing high fines to private car owners can definitely help to handle traffic congestions till certain extent, but this will also snatch the freedom of choice from citizens and increase the inefficiency.