Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and given opinion?

It is often argued that menagerie can be a cause of suffering for the wild species yet others feel that they are the safest place for their protection. Though wildlife captivities can be helpful in carrying out research work, in my view, it is not the way how those animals should live their entire life which questions the existence of such places. Animals kept in enclosed spaces are very apprehensive as they are well versed with the open spaces where they are free to move around on their own pace, hunt for their own food and not surrounded by human beings, as these wild species feel that humans are a threat to them because of which these animals are stressed and start to behave differently. For example, a 10 year old girl was attacked by a leopard in one of the well known national parks in India in 2011. On the contrary, wildlife parks can be beneficial for the research to be carried out on wildlife which can be instrumental in understanding the behaviour, developmental stages, nutritional requirements, health issues faced, breeding requirements. Based on the data collected from the studies, developments can be made to protect endangered species by providing a favourable breeding environment, accordingly appropriate care can be given to the new born till they become self sufficient, invention of newer medication and vaccines for different ailments. A study and corrective action done by the university of zoology has helped in increasing the number of one horned rhino, a Hornbill and different species of eagles. To conclude animal enclosures are the places which acts as an aid for the studies to be conducted, but it can be inhuman to curtail the freedom of these creatures by putting them in a cramped space which is surrounded by human beings therefore giving them a sense of insecurity. In my opinion, it is always better for animals to live in an area where they belong.