The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Transporting food from other countries requires a long distance to reach the customer. It is believed by a few sections of the society that individuals should only eat locally-produced food because of the betterment of the atmosphere as well as the economy of the nation. Although some negatives of such a trend can be seen, they are, in my view, eclipsed by the considerable positives. Both pros and cons will be discussed further. Beginning with the benefits with regards to the economy, locally-cultivated food is economically cheaper in comparison with imported food because it does not entail transportation cost and any foreign taxes; hence, it can become immense advantages to generate a holistic economy of the nation. Besides this, production of food cannot be completed without innumerable farmers, so that the chances of job opportunities would enhance be significantly for indigenous dwellers, and can play an instrumental role to boost the economy. Furthermore, domestically-produced food not only benefit economically, but also environmentally too. Firstly, transporting food from one to another country requires several vehicles, namely trucks, trains and many more, which emit exhaust fumes into the atmosphere, and can lead to air pollution severely, and also may be leading to global warming. For that reason, if people adapt to indigenous food, the level of pollution would be maintained. However, despite its many pros, a few disadvantages cannot be denied. One downside is indigenous dwellers cannot get varieties of food. To exemplify this, about a decade ago, we can hardly see Kiwi, which is New Zealand's food, but nowadays they are available in the market due to import and export. Therefore, if foreign food is banned, the masses cannot experience such food. Another one is, small farmers cannot get the possibility to expand their food business internationally, and as a result, it would affect the overall profit of the nation. To recapitulate, although dwellers can get diversity in food by importing from overseas countries, locally grown food is extremely beneficial both profitably as well as environmentally. Hence, the negative effect of this is definitely overshadowed by the positives.