Some people think the increasing business and cultural contact between countries brings many positive effects. Others say it causes the loss of national identities. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

The surge in interactions amongst various parts of the world, has resulted not only in the spurt of trade activities, but has also, phenomenally boosted the economic development. As a result, the enhanced cross-cultural understanding on a global scale is a the leading beneficial outcome. However, critics in many countries argue that such developments often turn out to be the biggest culprit behind the degradation of a nation's cultural identity. On the one hand, many developing countries have experienced a significant rise in employment opportunities in addition to unparalleled economic gains. Moreover, this could have been possible only by the virtue of globalization. Not only do businesses reap the benefits from reductions in the trade barriers, but also many competent employees get opportunities to work with multinational corporations. For example, cross-border trade has encouraged the tourism industry as well as, has further developed a better understanding of the multiple vibrant cultures. Furthermore, experiencing different ways of life, discovering new cuisine and customs and visiting cultural sites will eventually help people gain their knowledge bank and respect for other cultures. On the other hand, the general complaint about international trade is that it poses as a deadly threat to the national culture. In addition, the pervasive stream of marketing campaigns by international firms has influenced the dominance of junk foods and fashion trends. Hence, in recent years the traditional lifestyle has become less favourable amongst younger generations. In addition, there is mounting evidence that a large number of minority languages are on the verge of extinction as people prefer to conduct businesses and communicate in widely used tongues like English or Chinese. In conclusion, although globalization may result in a certain loss of cultural identities, there are still more benefits of increasing trade and cross-cultural activities among countries. From a broad perspective, international business should be regarded as a positive development and encouraged by all nations.