Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

In today’s world, serving long sentences in prison is considered as an effective measure to rehabilitate people who committed serious crimes. However, there are a large proportion of them re-offend crimes after being punished. In this essay, I will propose some solutions to solve this problem. Firstly, one of the biggest reasons that some people commit crimes after being released from prison is that they do not have any job related skills. That is to say, they are often rejected by employers because they lack of job experience compare to other applicants and therefore, they don’t have enough income to fulfil their basic needs. As a result, many people choose to commit petty crimes such as robbery and shoplifting in order to survive. The government should arrange more vocational training for prisoners and teach them more necessary knowledge which would definitely be needed in their future lives. This would hopefully help those people who want to start a new life in this society. Another reason why some people couldn’t be rehabilitated is that some serious offenders such as serial killers often have psychological issues and they couldn’t control their minds and behaviour. In other words, it is impossible for them to have normal relationship with people and to fit into the society if they are cured psychologically. The government should administer more psychiatrists or consultants in the current prison system to deal with some criminals’ mental health problems. All in all, there is no doubt that this problem is extremely urgent. In my opinion, we can decrease the number of people who re-offend by teaching them useful lessons and give them more care.