2. Some people argue that rehabilitation is more important for criminal offenders than punishment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that criminals should be rehabilitated rather than retribution. This essay strongly disagrees with the above statement because there will be no fear of law before committing any crime, moreover, the victim and his family will feel betrayed because of no justice for the pain and agony they go through. The punishment is more important because it instils the fear of the law in offenders before doing anything immoral. A culprit should have a feeling before executing any unlawful act that he will face similar consequences, which can stop him. Rehabilitation, though changes their state of mind, but this won’t stop others involving in sinful acts. For example, a research conducted, which supports the above fact that people who are involved in serious crimes like rapes as they like doing it, and also they have a belief of getting another opportunity to improve. Secondly, considering a revival over imprisonment will undoubtedly lower the trust of victims in legislation. They will feel betrayed by the constitution because of giving another chance to convicts. The feeling of trauma and loss, sufferers and closed ones go through is unparalleled, which cannot be pacified by this. For instance, Amanda fighting her brother’s case who was killed by a psycho killer had lost it because the court gave a judgement of sending the culprit for rehabilitation, instead, of sending him to the jail. To conclude, punishment is far more important to develop a sense of fear among vicious minds that will compel them to think over before doing anything harmful, furthermore, it keeps the trust intact in the law-making body of the people. Therefore, the above statement of giving miscreants another chance cannot be supported.