There is a shift in students' preference for their choice of colleges and universities as they now tend to study abroad. This phenomenon has some advantages, as well as disadvantages.

There has been a shift in students ’ preferences for colleges and universities. Students are now more likely to study abroad than to continue their studies in their own countries. This phenomenon has its advantages and disadvantages. Academically, studying abroad can broaden students ’ knowledge and skills, since some countries offer advanced technologies and high-quality teaching in their curriculum. Furthermore, students can also gain more perspectives by facing diverse cultures. Each country has its own habits and customs that need to be followed even by foreigners. This will train students ’ adaptability, which is a valuable competency in this fast-changing world. However, this also has some drawbacks if it keeps happening. Some students may choose to stay in the countries where they studied after graduation. The home country will lose the chance to have high-skilled individuals to innovate and develop the country. This could lead to an event known as “brain drain”,which experts have mentioned as one of the factors of a falling nation. Even worse, some may change their nationality and never come back. The nation’s population will be declining, and this could greatly impact the economy. With fewer people available, the market activities will be low and result in inflation. In conclusion, the new trend among students can give advantages as they can improve academically and socially by learning from different environments and situations. But it is also worth noting that in the long term, this has a hidden threat to the nation as students are also a part of the resources important for the continuity of the country.