Some people believe that young people know about international pop and movie stars but know very less about famous people from the history of their own country. Why is this? How can more interest be created in young people to gain more knowledge about their own famous people from history?

It is believed that youngsters know more about worldwide pop and movie stars, but has very less knowledge about popular people from the past of their own nation. It is because of the influence of Westernisation and modern culture on young people. This essay will discuss more about the influence of modernisation and followed by how we can make youths to remember about our own people from the past. Firstly, there is a prevailing myth among the people that is 'whatever comes from the west is best'. As a result, most of the people, including youths believe this myth and blindly start following popular people and their ideas etc. Secondly, western fashion also plays a vital role in attracting these young people to follow western singers and movie stars. Finally, thought process of our own people, that is, most of us believe that people from the west are more superior than us. This also made us to forget our own people who are famous. In order to create interest among young people about popular personalities in our past, we need to make aware about the contribution and remarkable work carried out by them. Further, we need to teach about famous people in our past from a very young age. Although, it is difficult to do that in the presence of influence from the west, but we can make a sincere effort, for instance, parents have to make kids learn about their past and how it has shaped the present generation. In conclusion, even though young people get attracted towards the western culture and modernization, still we have to make them remember about our own famous personalities from the history and their contribution to the nation.