A lot of money is spent on repairing old buildings. Instead of repairing old buildings that money should be spent on knocking down old building and building new ones. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Looking around, the once deserted and plain lands are now filled with buildings. Old buildings in today’s society still exist to preserve what is left, while newer and more aesthetic ones continue to be built. It is said that more money is invested in repairing old buildings, but I agree with the notion that funds should be spent on knocking down old buildings and building new ones in consideration for the safety of the citizens living in the apartment and cost to upkeep them. Repairing old buildings are rarely seen and ought to be knocked down as maintenance costs are spent on rebuilding it. For instance, the cost to occasionally repaint and repair the minor faults sum up to an unfathomable amount. Indeed, money can be saved when better designs such as solar panels due to the climate change are implemented where buyers will tend to purchase since the building is energy efficient and looks more pleasing to the eyes. Henceforth, this brings in more revenue than the dilapidated houses which does not look appealing at all. Thus, establishing new ones seem like an option to consider. Yet, preserving the past behind the building is vital to the citizens living in the country. To exemplify, the "Taj Mahal" is a magnificent architecture that has its heritage and holds value too. Furthermore, if the building were to be demolished, the influx of tourists visiting the attraction would undoubtedly reduce, impacting the economy of the country indirectly. Though it is undeniably cumbersome and expensive to maintain the building, efforts are put in, to upkeep the conditions of it. Therefore, repairing is the only way, otherwise we would be losing our historical and cultural background. While memories hold dear to many, the safety of residents living in houses must not be compromised. Countless articles regarding unstable infrastructure in older blocks of apartments have resulted in numerous calls of complaints from broken or leaking pipes to deep cracks in the walls, which are common as buildings need to be well-taken care of. Objects cannot last an entire lifetime, therefore change is needed for the building to support itself. Hence, constructing newer buildings might just be the solution to solve the problem. To summarise, many may argue that it is important to keep and hold onto the past that has made us today. Nonetheless, materials have to be kept up to date in this evolving world. Therefore, I strongly feel that money should only be spent on refurbishing buildings that give a unique identity to a place, while we should consider prioritising on designing and rebuilding new ones for the needs of the ever-growing population. After all, the present becomes the past, creating another place for rebuilding.