A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Tourism is one of the best revenue generating departments if managed properly and most countries are dependent on these holiday destinations for their income, like any other field, even tourism have its own merits and demerits although merits may outweigh its demerits. The leisure industries can play a very important role in getting fame to any country or a state which is the major benefit of upgrading profiles of that particular location. It creates a lot of job opportunities in the area which can solve the problem of unemployment, all the hospitality departments, namely Lodging hotels, Restaurants, Transportation departments, Shopping malls can benefit from these holiday destinations. For example, inaugurating the Statue of liberty in Gujarat has created 400 new permanent jobs, which also had given temporary employment to thousands of people who were involved in the construction. On the contarary, the place will always be crowded and can increase pollution of natural resources like air (because of more number of vehicles), water (as the number of people visiting beaches increase there will be a tendency to pollute the water),if these vacation spots are not maintained well it can cause a trouble to the visitors as well as the management. For instance, there was an accident which took place in one of the theme parks in which 1 child lost his life because of improper maintenance of the equipment which further led to the permanent closure of that park. Although there are few disadvantages of tourism, I think the advantages definitely outnumber the disadvantages. In conclusion to the above discussed points, tourism is the one of the best ways to improve the revenue streams by upgrading the infrastructure of the place, creates lot of job oppurtunities to the residents and also helps in uplifting the hospitality bussiness of the region, which definately outnumbers the demerits of pollution of natural resources and any mishaps caused due to improper management of the place or equipment.