The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

In the modern world, the English language is an international type of communication. More and more people try to learn this language. As well as a lot of them know English on a basic level. Some people believe, that has one language in the world is beneficial, while the others are not happy with this opinion. Firstly, one of the benefits of a single language is that people will understand each other. For example, a lot of humans working in the multinational team. It is better for them to speak, work, spend time together and be on the same page without any misunderstanding. Secondly, it is a positive aspect for those who like to travel around the world. For instance, Ukrainian Instagram blogger - Alexander Ladanivskyy. He knows English on a basic level, but for him, it is enough to visit new countries. Because even if he will go to Latin America, most will understand him in English rather than in Ukrainian. On the other hand, life with one language will be boring. There are a lot of languages around us. And this diversity is beneficial, as we all differ from each other. Sometimes thoughts in native language sound better and warm, than subsequently or soon afterward (often used as sentence connectors) then in English. The other negative aspect, that if all countries will have single language they will lose their authenticity. There is no nation without its own language and culture. There are good words of Ukrainian poetess Lina Kostenko - Nations do not die from a heart attack, first they are deprived of language. It explains that mother tongue is an integral part of the personality. In conclusion, while the world may have a benefit from a single language, it can also lead to loss of the authenticity of the nation.