Government investment in the visual arts, the kind you commonly see in art galleries, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Through taxation system, governments gain money as a result, most of the portion should be deployed on public services. Still, some money is spent on arts and crafts. I don't think spending a little portion on arts and crafts is deleterious. However, the majority of the portion should be used for improving public life. From the viewpoint of spending money on public services, there are several benefits. To illustrate, we need to understand, what are the various public services out there, where governments invest money. Firstly, the most cardinal one, in my opinion, is the education sector. Education is inevitably needed to build up a healthy and better nation as it is fundamental to augment the cognitive skills of every individual. Secondly, investment in health sector is essential to create a stable health system to provide better health support to people as well as to increase their quality of life. Thirdly, transportation system plays a big role in everyday life of our common mass. Hence, there is no question of investing money on that. Besides, some other public services include the infrastructural developments which are necessary for the overall development of the country. On the contrary, arts demand some investment also as it will be difficult for that sector to maintain stability and progress without stimulation from government. Furthermore, the arts have numerous forms such as music, films, dance, books etc. Which are used to calm our mind and get relaxation. Therefore, the arts also help us to increase our quality of life to some extent. To sum up, public services are important for overall progress, thereby, governments should invest continuously on that. But, it's not a waste of money if some amount is spent on arts sector as that sector also possesses some importance from a psychological point of view.