Nowadays, many schools find it profitable to sell unhealthy food and sugary drinks to students during lunch breaks. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is considered by most of the schools these days to market unhealthy and high sugar drinks to children in order to gain profit. This strategy is a negative development as children might suffer from health problems by consuming junk foodstuff. However, instead of unhealthy meals in schools can promote healthy meal items. First of all, it is essential for schools to monitor their children's eating habits, in addition to their academic studies. By selling junk food and high-calorie drink, children get used to an unhealthy lifestyle. These types of diets contain a lesser amount of nutrition, which is essential for the mental and physical progress of children. As a result, children suffer from chronic diseases, such as diabetes, obesity at a very young age. To illustrate this, last year in Kolkata, 40% of the students had diabetes due to their unhealthy eating habits. Therefore, schools should take proactive action to prevent such shops and stalls, which can deter children's overall advancement. Nevertheless, Schools can sell healthy food to their children. In this way, children will develop monetary skills by purchasing food from the stalls. Also, they will develop selective quality. Moreover, schools will get funding from food companies, which can be used in the improvement of classes and sports facilities at the institution. Take, for example, these days; many top beverage companies are collaborating with schools to increase their sales. Hence, schools should set up "healthy food policy," encouraging shops, which serve only healthy foodstuff and drinks. To conclude, While many schools opine that selling unhealthy food is profitable to them, there are more detrimental effects associated with it. Schools should only encourage healthy and nutritious food on their campus; in this way, it will be beneficial for both schools and children.