In today’s society people tend to buy many things and throw them away even though they can still be used. What are some causes of this behaviour? What are some effects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is not too much to say that the history of humanity is the history of technology, i.e., technology, per se, has made us what we are, master of the universe, ranging from the control of fire to state-of-the-art inventions, e.g., aeroplaines and computers. Nowadays, many people are likely to buy a large number of products and discard them quickly, causing some significant problems. Admitting that it is a matter of relativity what we may consider the consumption trend, the answer varies from person to person, depending on the value systems or the countries. All in all, I believe that its main cause is reducing the price due to mass production, which can lead to the destruction of the environment. First and foremost, I reckon that the development of technology has enabled us to produce myriad things, reducing costs dramatically and making products inexpensive to access for many customers. For example, Ford, an American car company, invented an automatic-assembling system to improve their productivity in the early 20th century. Currently, this method is adopted in many industries, such as electrical and household appliances, and makes the prices reduced, compared to hand-made products. As a result, a lot of consumers can purchase many products on a daily basis. However, this trend gives the environment great negative impacts, for instance, building landfill sites that destroy wild nature. In fact, in Japan, landfill sites are more constructed in suburban areas and near mountains where many wild animals live, and the amount of trash has increased. Thus, some survey shows that the number of animals decreased in these areas due to invasiving their habitats by cutting trees and soil pollution. Therefore, mass production causes an increase in trash and a need for new landfill sites. In conclusion, today’s consumption trend is to buy a vast amount of things and throw them away soon, even if they are usable. I believe that the main cause of this is mass production, thanks to the development of technology, which leads to the destruction of the environment. To address this issue, we have to think about sustainability seriously.