In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Children in some countries are usually educated that they can accomplish any goal by putting enough effort. Personally, although this message may lead to great achievements, making endeavour alone cannot guarantee achievement for everyone. Regarding the positivity, it has long been considered that accomplishment is a result of persistence and willingness to work hard to overcome every failure. The best example of this attitude comes from Japan, where every child is encouraged to defeat any struggle by setting their mind to it. And today, Japan is not only a powerful and modern country, but also is a global leader in electronics industries. As a result, when children are equipped with the belief that anything will be achieved with enough attempt, they are more likely to conquer the challenges and become successful. Analysing the negativity, just focusing on the connection between effort and success may bring a detrimental impact on children. In fact, when a child tries as hard as he can but still did not achieve the desired outcome, he may be depressed and consider himself a failure. This phenomenon is relatively popular in China. Every year this country registers a high rate of depressive symptoms in students after finishing the national college entrance examination, partly because they cannot reach the expected goal although they spend several years working around the clock. Consequently, hard work is an essential ingredient but supposing it can guarantee achievement may lead to disastrous outcomes. In conclusion, despite controversial in determining the effects of teaching children that they can achieve anything by putting enough attempt, obviously, you have to do more than just working hard to succeed.