Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

Many parents are under pressure to provide their children with cell phones. Like other inventions, having cell phones can have positive and negative consequences, nevertheless, I consider this tendency of having mobiles as an essential step forward. On the one hand, children can benefit from owning cell phones. Firstly, it could be used for educational purposes. If students do not know the meaning of a world they can easily look it up on their phones. In this way, they do not waste the class time. Secondly, it can provide children with more safety and security. Especially, children who have to stay home alone might use their phones in an emergency situation. For example, when somebody knocks on the door, they can open the door based on their parents' permission via the phone. Finally, it can entertain children. These days, thousands of games can be found online, so children can take advantage of this condition and enjoy themselves. On the other hand, mobiles can affect children in negative ways. To elaborate, using cell phones might be unhealthy. A study conducted at the University of Ottawa suggests that there might be a link between using mobiles and brain tumours in children aged under 12 years old. On top of that, due to a sedentary lifestyle, children using phones have a greater chance to become couch potatoes. Moreover, cell phones may distract children from focusing on their academic subjects, leading to falling behind on their assignments. For instance, children may find YouTube more attractive than studying maths or chatting with peers would be more important than completing their projects before the deadlines. Lastly, children can get socially isolated. A plethora of children spends a great deal of time staring at their phones without talking to others, which means devoting time to face-to-face contacts would significantly be reduced. In summary, owning a cell phone can act as a double-edged sword; however, I personally believe that its merits outweigh the drawbacks. Therefore, it should be regarded as a welcome phenomenon.