Some feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Importing food from other countries is a common phenomenon for some nations. It is argued by some that food production should be increased and food import should be limited. This essay will discuss this issue and explain why I totally agree with the increase in producing and decrease in importing. Sufficiency in food demanded by people in a country leads in a limited amount of imported food, which is very beneficial for a society. The most significant reason behind this claim is saving the budget that is used for importing. For example, by empowering the agriculture, this aim can be achieved more easily. This way the economy of the country will benefit as well. Another positive point of this action can be observed in launching more job opportunities. Indeed, every step toward self-sufficiency in food, requires setting up a new business and therefore hiring more workers. For instance, even a small sausage factory can provide many job opportunities for unemployed people. So, the rate of unemployment will decrease and the society will have a more prosperous economy. To conclude, although there is some food that needs to be imported, to minimize the amount of this process of importing, a country should try to produce as much food as it can for its people. Hence, the economy will benefit to a great deal.