Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Education plays a vital role in shaping the personality of an individual and opens door for success. There are some people who think its beneficial to send their children in segregated schools, while others believe that boys and girls take more advantage of learning process when sent to coeducation schools. This essay will discuss both these views. Some parents are extra concerned about their children and fear their child will not be able to concentrate on studies in the presence of the opposite gender. These fears of distraction, especially during teenage years when the hormones are raging push parents towards sending their children to same sex schools. Moreover, educators in same gender schools are given special training to teach the subject according to the learning capacity of genders. For example, in Pakistan various same sex schools have developed different learning strategies. In regards to girls, teaching is done theory based involving textbooks whereas for boys they have adopted a more practical approach by teaching practices. Mixed gender schools have become more common now than in the past. Some parents believe in sending their children to such schools will be beneficial for them. When boys and girls attend school together, they learn to understand the emotions of opposite sex. Furthermore, the activities carried out are tailored to meet the requirements of both genders. In addition, the shy kids eventually develop confidence to start speaking in front of the opposite gender which they would have lacked otherwise. For instance, a recent study indicated shy children showed great improvement when exposed to mixed gender exchange programs. In my opinion, attending both types of schools depends on the choice of the boys and girls. However, I believe the learning process is improved by attending mixed schools because apart from academic progress, it teaches other skills as well, such as being kind, compassionate and understanding towards the opposite sex. In conclusion, this essay discussed both these opinions. The way education is provided should be beneficial by all means.