Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problem does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Thanks to globalisation, big corporations have entered the local markets and try to attract customers through marketing, thus cause a major problem for small or local businesses. This essay discusses the major problems caused by this including the disappearance of local businesses gradually and the monopoly of big companies. Besides, the essay also suggests appropriate solutions to address this issue and motivate people to buy local product. This issue causes several main problems in terms of social. Firstly, the entering of big enterprises in market threats to the existence of small businesses. A large amount of labours might lose their jobs and become social burden. For example, many supermarkets are opened in local areas and have strong marketing policies. Thus, people tend to buy products in supermarkets rather than local markets where supply local business's products and numerous factories will be threatened to be closed, as a consequence. Secondly, with huge budgets, big companies can buy several local stores and create a monopoly in the market. Customers, therefore, would have to pay more money for products. The living standard would be expensive and local resident cannot afford it. There are some solutions which address this issue. The first resolution is that the local businessmen should improve the quality of their products to attract customers. Product quality is essential to ensure that their customers will return. In addition, individuals should play their part in making sure that they encourage local brands. For instance, rather than buying a big company's product, they should give local products a try and review them on social networks. Rating and reviews play a major role in improving the sales of a product. In conclusion, many problems can be caused by the entering and marketing product of large companies to the development of local companies. Both local companies and local residents should take practical solutions to solve that problem.