Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

These days, the planet is facing several environmental issues, so there is a debate about whether or not the extinction of particular species of plants and animals is an urgent issue. In order to evaluate this issue, both views about the urgency of species extinction should be thoroughly considered before making a decision. Firstly, there are people who say that the loss of particular species of plants and animals is the most important environmental issue that should be solved as soon as possible because it would cause a disturbance in the food chain. For example, environmental problems such as global warming have killed several species of essential plants in the ocean such as algae and kelp. As a result of this disturbance in the balance of the ecosystem, many animals are in danger of irreversible population losses, and they could even face extinction. This shows that extinction of plant and animal species can be considered as a serious environmental problem of our time. However, apart from the problem of animal extinction, I believe that the most important environmental problem is actually the lack of fresh drinking water in poor countries around the world. This is because people require fresh water daily in order to survive, but many people who live in poor countries only have access to contaminated water sources. For example, according to research from the World Health Organisation, countries in the Sahara region of Africa face severe droughts that limit the availability of clean water during most of the year. As this example shows, environmental problems such as water shortage should be considered as more important than the loss of species of animals and plants because insufficient drinking waters have a more direct effect on people’s daily life. To sum up, it is clear that the loss of particular species of plants and animals is a serious problem, but I think that water shortage is a more urgent problem that directly affects people’s lives.