A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world.

These days, an increasing number of people spend their public and casual holidays while travelling around the globe. Tourism brings many advantages to the host country. Moreover, it invites some disadvantages as well, which cannot be ignored. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of tourism. To begin with, nowadays, it has become a trend as every individual plan their holidays in different countries every year. As a result, it helps host countries to improve their economy and benefit local citizens. First and foremost, the government generates a hefty amount of money through tourism. For example, tourists will have to spend a huge amount of money on things like visas, air tickets, hotels, and others. Thus, these costs include taxes and government duty charges. Secondly, tourism creates job opportunities for locals in services like hotels, restaurants, theme parks, and other tourist spots. Last but not least, there are around 2000 languages around the world as tourism will help tourists to learn and speak other languages. This means that travellers can communicate with local people and visit as many attractions as possible without paying a penny to travel agents. On the other hand, it is proven that tourism is the biggest cause of pollution and waste. To put it another way, many visitors through the garbage, wrappers, papers, and other wasted products on the streets, roads, and beaches. Besides, it also puts pressure on local resources. For example, in some countries, resources are very limited and designed for local communities like foods, transport, roads, and others. If there are many tourists, it will become very difficult for the government to accommodate. Lastly, it is a very simple rule that if the demand is high so the price is. This means tourism is the biggest threat to local people as the cost of the living can jump very sharply. To conclude, it seems to me that tourism can invite many benefits to the residents and the state. However, there are some disadvantages as well, which I believe, the government should consider very carefully before opening doors to tourists.