Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that volunteering should be obligatory in every school’s curriculum. Others, however, believe that this ought to be optative. In my opinion, unpaid jobs are essential for any youngster’s development and, in this essay, I will explain why. Community service teaches teenagers about generosity and responsibilities. Improving the neighbourhood, for instance, gives a feeling of fulfilment just by the fact that everything looks pretty and that it is your job to keep it that way. Another excellent advantage is that it keeps the youth off the streets. In this manner, if a teenager has the obligation to teach children how to play soccer every day after school, it will be his or her responsibility to be there on time and therefore will not have time to be wandering the streets or using drugs and alcohol. Others, on the contrary, consider that volunteering must be optative and teenagers should be able to decide what to do with their free time in order to gain independence for future decisions. For example, they might enjoy practicing sports, yoga, get singing lessons or start preparing for college. If they are, as previously stated, too busy with volunteer jobs they will not have time to think about other preferences. In conclusion, whereas not having to do unpaid community service may give some independence, I believe having the experience of being a volunteer enriches and enhances young adults’ generosity and responsibility awareness. Moreover, it protects them from the harm of drugs and alcohol abuse.