Some people think that it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinion as them. Others believe it is good to have friends who sometimes disagree with you. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whereas there are those who advocate that it is preferable to have friends who share the same points of view as them, others defend the opposite. Although I can recognize both sides, I indeed claim that having friends with different opinions will bring more value to this relationship, as well as personal growth. On the one hand, some individuals feel more comfortable having colleagues who have the same idea about things and about life. For them, it is difficult to be close to someone who thinks differently when it comes to religion and politics, for illustration. Hence, each side will have distinct values and beliefs, which will have a negative impact on their friendship. Nevertheless, this might be a challenge, I believe that even having those different opinions there will always be something in common that you can share with others from different worlds. On the other hand, there are those groups that are fond of having friends who disagree with them, as they are not afraid of dealing with debates and adapting to different personalities. Since we are always learning, having someone to show us a distinct perspective of something will open our eyes to a new environment that we might even do not know exist. For instance, we can bring the idea of racism, you may just have realized that you were a racist person after someone who you trust and liked had shown it to you. In fact, I see this friendship as a valuable opportunity of learning as well as personal growth, which will also bring benefits to the community around them. In conclusion, even though there are those individuals who prefer friends who share the same opinions, I believe that having the opportunity of hearing other points of view is the best way of building a great friendship, which will result in a growth for you and for all the others around you.