Despite the increased access to education a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take

Nowadays, people have more opportunities to access different sources of information, which enables them to gain more knowledge. However, there is a fact that numerous people are still unable to read or write. This essay firstly will discuss the drawbacks of illiteracy and then it will provide solutions for the authorities. To begin with, there are two disadvantages for illiterates. The main drawback is that illiterates have certain limitations to pursue a good career, for example, employees are required to learn new concepts and new technologies. Consequently, illiterates will find it difficult to read and comprehend books to enhance their knowledge and to meet that requirement. Additionally, illiterates also have difficulty to communicate with other people. For instance, they might feel hesitate to communicate with others because of the differences in education level. Although illiterates are facing some certain drawbacks, however the government can address those issues by implementing two solutions. Firstly, governments should provide financial support to families, such as the authorities in developing countries can form a fund for child care benefit that will help poor families to bring more children to school. Furthermore, governments need to work with schools to introduce online courses, for example, math or language courses in television or on the Internet. The younger generation can learn online course provided by the government from their home for free. In conclusion, illiterates are not only having less chance to improve their employment, but they are also unable to maintain their social status, so besides allocating more budget to needy families, the authorities should encourage e-learning which will enable more children to come to digital school.