Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while others would argue that rehabilitation its primary role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that the primary purpose of prison is to punish criminals, while others would say that aim of prison is reclamation. This essay will discuss firstly, how prison ensures the safety of other citizens and secondly, how rehabilitation aims to make them better citizens. To commence with, criminal are put in jail to ensure the safety of other citizens. In other words, if the crime is more serious, prison is used to punish offenders. However, all criminals are put together in prison and sometimes they make friendship with other offenders. As a result, they are more likely to re-offend when they are released. For example, Crime Petrol recent reported a minor criminal became serious criminal after released from prison in Mumbai. Besides this, rehabilitation aims to make criminal better person. To support this statement, prisoners receive education and training, they can learn personal skills and specific job skills which help them to make their future bright. Moreover, rehabilitated prisoners are less likely to re-offend because of the training which they received. For instance, LCB of Mumbai reported recently that, 80% of rehabilitated prisoners have become better human being. In conclusion, it is true that the prisons are meant to punish the criminal, but it sometimes leads to more crime as in prison offender make friendship with other offenders. However, in my opinion, rehabilitation brings more advantages by giving an opportunity to criminals, and by making them better citizens.