Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people believe that governments should fund development of public services rather than invest in arts like cinemas, ballet and music which are considered to be a misuse of money. This essay will agree with this opinion because efficient public services benefit a large proportion of the society. Additionally, unlike the arts, services such as hospitals and railways have a lasting effect on the welfare of communities. One of the main reason governments must provide funds for public services is because funding hospitals, public parks and metro systems will benefit the citizens in the long run. For instance, spending money to build a better public hospital leaves a longstanding infrastructure that would benefit communities for many generations. Thus, funding public services such as railways, courtrooms and schools helps create secure jobs along with business and learning opportunities which have a lasting effect on the society. Furthermore, investing capital in the arts such as cinemas and music does not benefit quite as many people as with an investment into developing public services.Government funds are made by the money collected through public taxes, hence its spending should be prioritised to profit a larger proportion of the community directly.The number of people using public services, such as health care and schools outnumbers those visiting theatres or art galleries. For example, the entire population of United Kingdom depends on free healthcare through the National Health Service (NHS). Therefore an investment in the NHS would benefit the entire population. In conclusion, government authorities should provide capital to enhance facilities used by the public as they are profitable to society as a whole. They also end up creating long term opportunities for residents that are not available with financing the art sector