Many people say that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Different human activities have adversely affected the environmental health. A large part of the population holds the view that globalization and ever increasing number of multinational companies have a negative impact on the environment. I completely agree with this opinion ant this essay will further elaborate on my viewpoint. There are a myriad of side effects of this trend which harm our environment. To begin with, due to globalization and increased number of multinational companies deforestation has increased manifestly. To put it differently, because of the increase in number of multinational companies a large area of land is used for construction of office buildings and homes for its employees. This land is obtained by clearing of forests and farmlands, resulting in deforestation. Even though this may not seem to harm the environment directly, decreased vegetation cover ultimately leads to flooding, soil erosion and droughts, to name but a few. Thus, eventually ruining the environment. Furthermore, since globalization and job opportunities in multinational companies have led to greater individual incomes, it has promoted consumerism. To explain further, although people should buy only what they need, increased earnings inspire people to indulge in unnecessary shopping, hence, putting more burden on mother earth. Moreover, the higher economic status inspire people to live a wasteful life, as a result of which more natural resources get consumed up then required. For instance, the energy consumption of an American is five times more than that of an average Asian. To conclude, in my opinion, globalization and the increased number of multinational companies have put an enormous burden on land resources and other natural resources. Thus, having a detrimental effect on the environment. Therefore, immediate steps need to be taken to save the environment from any further damage.