The crime rates nowadays are decreasing compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In the past few years, as a result of the advancements in technology, it is believed that amount of crimes in society may have reduced. The application of mechanization has not only prevented dangerous crimes to occur, but also resolve some of these in a shorter period. Although the application of automation has created a positive impact on society by reducing crime, it is also one of the factors that has given birth to many new forms of crime. Technology has significantly reduced the rate by which thefts are committed in public places, private offices, and local transportation. The installations of CCTV surveillance in these places capture the real-time data of the activities happening in public places, resulting in the prevention of the occurrence of many criminal incidences. For instance, many shopping malls have security systems that comprise of surveillance cameras that can detect any suspicious activities on the premises. Hence, this mechanization has further facilitated to reduce thefts in malls and discourage the offender to steal valuable goods. However, the misuse of computerization has also resulted in new crimes such as cybercrime, identity theft, and data phishing. The advancement of machinery can be a threat to the society. Nowadays, internet is most convenient and easiest accessible source of information for almost everything. The information can be processed through the internet within a fraction of a second. Nevertheless, many people inappropriately use this mechanization. A significant amount of personal data is available not only in the social media accounts but also on net banking which can be easily hacked by professional hackers. For instance, the study shows that 80% of the cybercrime reported in North America are hacked net banking accounts of customers who have lost millions of dollars just in a couple of seconds. However, as such criminal opportunities arise, so developers are combating (to fight against) this threat with security software. In conclusion, the advancement of machinery has reduced the crime rate in some areas as compared to the past. However, new criminal activities have emerged due to misuse of technology. Therefore, it is hard to say whether it has reduced or not, but it has definitely changed in nature.