One of the consequences of improved medical care is that the people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the advancement of medical amenities, chances of survival, and an individual’s lifespan have increased. From my view of thinking, the advantages of this trend will outstrip the demerits. Longer life expectancy does not necessarily mean that a person will remain healthy throughout their life. The most obvious evidence for this that senior people are prone to get more diseases. Hence current society needs the more medical and nursing staff, the more specialist doctors, the more health care conveniences: as a result, there are many patients at hospitals. Furthermore, governments and insurance companies will spend a large amount of money on pension incomes and other welfare services, thus organizations and governments will lose a lot of funds. Consequently, all these issues will ultimately put a tremendous burden on the working young population. On the other hand, the happiness of people will increase due to the improvement of medical facilities. First of all, the most noticeable benefit is that they can live longer with their families and travel to various places and, of course, contribute more to the community. Secondly, they can give valuable advice and emotional support to younger generations in difficult times. Moreover, they can help their children take care of their grandkids. For instance, they can aid their grandchildren in doing home tasks or in teaching them different life skills, moral and cultural values. What is more, society can also benefit from the elderly. The government can make senior people more productive by increasing the age of retirement or by availing their services in non-labour community work. In conclusion, while increasing lifespan has brought many problems, in my view, the pros of this progress far outweigh the cons.