Some people say that the main way to be happy in life is to have a lot of money. How might having a lot of money make people happy? What other things in life can make people happy?

Money is considered by many people to be one of the most important contributing factors towards prosperity. In my opinion, people can be happy even if they have less funds and other aspects of life can play a vital role in creating peace of mind. Although having money brings enjoyment to lots of people, it does not necessarily follow that people with less cash are therefore, unhappy. Take for example, the comparison between developing and developed countries most Westerners would agree that people in developing countries are happier, enjoy stronger family connections and take more pleasure in the simplicities of life to a greater extent than those in developed countries. One way that people can gain enjoyment is by doing voluntary work. For instance, a doctor doing volunteering in underdeveloped countries or treating people from villages may have a very little wage, but the reward of helping people and doing the job they are good at bringing prosperity in itself. In other words, contentment can be found by doing other works that people are trained for and through job satisfaction. Finally, another factor influencing optimism is having supportive and loving people in one’s life. While cash may bring opportunities to enjoy pleasures, few people would enjoy on their own. Being surrounded by a loving and caring family is considered by most people to be more valuable than any amount of wage. In conclusion, money is not essential for happiness, which can be found through job satisfaction as well as family. If more people strive towards true happiness than money, the world would be a better place.