In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In modern days, a large proportion of students travels overseas to acquire degrees from universities for their growth, in comparison to time, when pupils preferred to pursue their education in local institutions. This essay will elucidate the benefits as well as drawbacks over this trend in modern world. To start with, high school graduates moving to the other side of the globe for their higher education are advantageous for their career development. It will give them an opportunity to learn a new language as now days, most of the organisations prefer bilingual candidates for their companies. For example, students from India boarding in Canada for study purpose get a chance to learn French along with English. So, it apparently gives them good exposure of learning at global level. In addition to this, students graduating from worldwide renowned colleges and coming back to their homeland are more likely to get high salaried job offers due to extended knowledge over those who studied domestically. Thus, studying abroad is a feather in a cap for their career. On the other side, students leaving their homeland for their tertiary education in other countries find difficult to adapt in a new environment. Homesickness, cultural differences, etc. Are prone to occur. For instance, students are unlikely to understand the work culture alongside their studies. Young ones are not mature enough to make their own decisions and can get easily derailed from their tracks resulting in bad grades. Besides this, different approaches of teaching are unwelcome for some students. And henceforth, the ambiance becomes a myriad of concerns for their stability in foreign. To sum up, it can be stated that students who are studying in foreign universities get better jobs and result in effective communication skills however, the demerits of studying abroad cannot be neglected.