Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the soaring increment in the purchase of household goods has happened due to the great impact of the commercials, although they are usually not required by the public. I plainly disagree with this notion because these products are based on consumer demands, and are quite useful, thus making them popular. Further information about this will be discussed in the essay. To begin with, the numerous products available in the markets are generally launched, after conducting surveys on the target consumers. In other words, the preparation, marketing, and selling of goods are initiated after gathering the necessary information about the specific consumer requirements. For instance, in 2010 in India, keeping in view the fast-paced life of the society, various food Industries started the manufacturing of instant food items. Therefore, the popularity of goods does not entirely depend on the advertisements. Similarly, the various commodities, which are generally based on technology, namely, electronics, electrical appliances, and cosmetics, have turned out to be extremely helpful. This is to say that these creations, save energy and time in many ways, which actually creates their demand in society. To exemplify, prior to the introduction of the washing machine in 2001 in India, it was considered a tedious job to wash clothes manually. However, these machines have provided a lot of extra time for people to spend on other important tasks. To conclude, the sale of the products rises owing to their demand in society, and their usefulness. Hence, the given statement does not seem rational to me.