Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Do you agree or disagree?

According to the statistics, crime rates are increasing dramatically. Many people believe that prisoning is the best way to punish the offenders. I strongly agree with this opinion because of the following reasons. The primary reason why I believe jails are the best choice to penalize defaulters is that it ensures the safety of society. A guilty person should be behind bars and not allowed to stay in the community. This is very important, not only for the victims, but also for the safety of the public and law-abiding citizens. By putting law-breaker in the prison, it will be very difficult to commit violations again if living in a place where the law is strictly enforced. Another reason for my belief is that the prisoners will be rehabilitated to become better citizens before they are free. For example, a large number of prisons use morality programs, in which prisoners are trained and learn some life skills. Understanding the value of freedom as well as the appropriate sanctions will help those who have sinned back to being honest. Prison alternatives would be much less effective. One option would be to apply fines as penalties for a criminal. The drawback of this approach is that some rich people may intentionally commit crimes when they feel they can easily afford it. Another option is to ask the offender to do community service. Although this type of punishment may be considered socially beneficial, it can also be extremely risky. It is quite difficult to trust those illegal behaviours that can be changed in a better way, so it may endanger the community. In conclusion, it is recommended that criminals serve a proper sentence for their wrongdoings. I firmly believe that strict imprisonment is an effective deterrent for those who intend to commit crimes.