Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Supplying plenty of playthings to entertain children is widely practiced by parents. There are certain benefits of offering a wide variety of toys for youngsters. However, the negative consequences are worth considering. Providing many toys to console children is highly beneficial since many playthings are designed for educational and child development purposes. Take Lego for instance, it can demonstrate both a child's imagination and mathematical thinking by developing symmetry, balance, and shape of a tower or building. Another example is origami. Youngsters playing with this type of toy can stimulate their creativity by learning how to fold and to form a piece paper based on the instructional patterns. Moreover, these particular types of toys are it is also useful for children’s psychology such as training their patience as well as finding a solution. As a result, the children playing with these kinds of toys might be smarter, more persistent, and do better in terms of problem-solving compared to their peers. Despite the advantages, there are drawbacks to giving too many toys to children such as developing antisocial traits. Youngsters prefer playing at home using provided-toys rather than playing with their friends. In the long-term, this attitude may develop negative consequences on their personality. Moreover, common playthings used by children are designed for indoor activity. This leads to making them have sedentary behaviour resulting in worse health outcomes such as child obesity. To sum up, buying a lot of toys for youngsters is highly recommended as long as it provides merits for their development. However, the parent should ensure that the children have sufficient time to socialize and to perform physical activity. Thus, the toys will not have a negative impact on the children.