Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a tendency to believe that as the world progresses, new technologies are invented for human to communicate in more modernistic ways that renders writing letters dispensable. This essay agrees with that suggestion as it is more effective to communicate in the modern way rather than using an old method such as writing letters. In my opinion, it seems that the invention of modern communications such as the use of cellphones, has made human lives easier in more ways than one. Humans are able to use smartphones or tablets anywhere and at any given time thus saving us the trouble of having to go places or having to wait to send and receive messages. For example, if you were to send a message using emails, it will be delivered in minutes or even seconds whereas traditional letters will take at least a day or two for the message to be recieved which is way less effective and moreover, time consuming. Writing and sending letters require more work and also costs more. In order to send a letter, you would need more information about the person to whom the letter refers such as the complete address and PO Box. In addition to that, you would also need to pay certain amount of money for each letter that is to be mailed which would be a waste of money. For instance, it costs about £0.50 per letter and if you were to send just 5 letters you would have spent £2.50 whilst sending electronic mail would not require any fees. In conclusion, old-fashioned letter -writing should be replaced with the modernized ways of communicating because doing so will save people a significant amount of time, energy, and also expenses.