In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that, in Britain, when people get older, often go and live in a hospice or a place where nurses take care of the elderly. In some cases, it is the government's responsibility to pay the bill. I believe there should be a general policy concerning this topic. The government should pay when the patient is diagnosed with a certain medical condition and the family are unable to take care of him at home since he needs special guidance. On the other hand, If the family sent the elderly to a nursing home because they don't have time to take care of him and fulfil his needs, then it is their own responsibility to take care of the payments since in this case, we are talking about luxury. Getting old is not something easy to handle. To begin with, when a person ages, everything starts to be more complicated, time consuming, and costly. When an old man is diagnosed with a severe and complex disease, it is better to put him in a centre where health care professionals know how to treat, take care and achieve his basic needs. For example, an old man diagnosed with Alzheimer's malady. Alzheimer's disease is the degeneration of brain cells where the person starts losing his memory and orientation. As he grows old, so many complications will appear. He will definitely need a health care professional team to take care of him. In this case, it is the government's duty to take care of the payments as they will move the elderly to a hospice. On the other hand, when a family wants to send one of its members to a hospice because they don't have time to care of him or simply they don't want to take care of him, then it is the family's authority to cover the bills. When an elderly is healthy, does not have any complications or health problems, he should stay home around his family. As long as the family wants to send the old member to a centre for luxury and to avoid taking care of them, it is absolutely their own responsibility to cover the payments. In conclusion, the government covering the bills of an elderly patient depends on the disease he was diagnosed. If a family wants to send an old member to a health service company so they can avoid taking care of them and treatment, then it is their own problem and full obligation concerning the coverage of payments.