Giving lectures in halls to large numbers of people is an outdated method of teaching. With the technology available today, there is no justification for it and everything should be done online. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The traditional classroom form of schooling is considered to be out-of-date, and it is recommended to opt for the online mode of learning, which is easier owing to the advanced technology. However, in my view, both of these methods have some advantages and disadvantages thus, we cannot choose one over another. This essay will discuss that how these methods can coexist. To begin with, the conventional mode of learning encourages the student-teacher interaction, which is imperative. In other words, if we completely replace this method with the online mode, then due to reduced interaction the teaching process will not remain effective. To exemplify, according to an article by The Hindu newspaper, after the declaration of pandemic by W H O in 2020 schools and universities started to conduct classes on the internet, which resulted in a significant decline in the performance of the students. Hence, the old form of schooling is more efficient and cannot be replaced totally. On the other hand, the smart classrooms, a product of technology, should be adopted to improve the pedagogy. This is to say that, the use of PPTs in the smart classes, enhances the understanding because students can learn things better through visualisation. For instance, in 2016 in India several public and private schools installed projectors in their lecture halls to boost the teaching process. To conclude, the traditional and the novel technology-based pedagogy are complementary to each other because one is more efficient and the other aid in understanding. Thus, it is not a good idea to replace one with the other.