as countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. what are the causes of this trend and what are the effects on society

Over the past few decades, the size of families has decreased in most countries, with an increasing number of people choosing to remain single or to live away from their parents. The main reasons for this trend lie in social development as well as the change of conception, and the effects on society are commonly negative. The typical reason related to the high mobility of the population is the convenience of transport and telecommunication which allow people to move more frequently. For example, a huge number of young people migrate from the countryside to the city to earn a living. Many of them end up settling down in the city where they work, while their parents are reluctant to leave the hometown. This results in the separation of children, adults and elderly. Another essential factor is the change of conception. As people’s living standard is raised, they become eager for more independence and privacy. Accordingly, if they can afford to buy or rent a house, they prefer to set up small family units and enjoy their own lifestyles. As the structure of the family changes, the bond of family members seems to become weaker and there have arisen a series of social problems. For one thing, the government has to pay for potentially huge medical care expenditure from its fiscal budget. This is because older people are in need of care and attention, but it is hard to acquire from their children since those children are occupied with their own business and the two generations are separated by long distance. For another, the progress of the society will be hindered in the long term. Young couples with small families have to cope with all problems without any help from their parents, particularly taking care of their babies, and this is usually the source of high stress, which will undoubtedly reduce their working efficiency and will stunt the development of related companies and industries. In conclusion, the mode of the nuclear family is expected to become the mainstream of our society as a result of urbanization, and its destructive effects on our society ought to be taken into consideration.