Some people think that museums and art galleries should concentrate on the history and art o their own country rather than the works of art of other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is said by a number of people that they should pay attention to the artefacts of their own nation in lieu of other countries. I partly agree with this point of view. On the one hand, those who spent time studying and searching national history and art galleries could strengthen a patriotic feeling towards their country. This is because the more time citizen given to national works of art, the better understanding of their culture and heritage they may gain, which in turn leads to an increase in people’s pride in the nation. For example, Vietnamese high school students are often assigned historical projects associated with Ho Chi Minh’s life and work, who had made a great contribution to Vietnam’s history. As a result, not only students could gain a great deal of practical and useful experience, but also rise a sense of attachment to their home country. If educational institutions emphasized teaching children regarding a country ’s history, they would be more likely to facilitate a national spirit. On the other hand, drawing attention to international works of art would enrich people’s knowledge globally. For instance, the Chinese authorities has been always sending their outstanding students to foreign countries to learn about the art galleries and history of the host nation, and then put those knowledge and experience gained into practice. Consequently, this would help Chinese citizens broaden their horizons at an international level. Besides, they are also being able to keep updated as to what is happening around the world which could be beneficial for them in the long term. Therefore, their country would not be left behind as well as become obsolete. In conclusion, while it is imperative for people to focus on the history and works of art in the country, nevertheless I believe that they should not underestimate other countries’ artefacts.